Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

News:



Author Topic: How do I get SS Pro to do a sweep?  (Read 7967 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

audiguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
How do I get SS Pro to do a sweep?
« on: July 26, 2009, 10:21:15 AM »
If I click on sweep, and turn the excitation signal on, I just get some annoying low frequency buzz that never stops.  Changing from Lin to Log just makes it sound different.

FaberAST

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 318
    • View Profile
    • www.FaberAcoustical.com
Re: How do I get SS Pro to do a sweep?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 09:15:13 AM »
The length of the sweep (and periodic noise) in SignalScope Pro is tied to the FFT length used by the FFT analyzer. Increasing the number of spectral lines will increase the length of the sweep.

audiguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: How do I get SS Pro to do a sweep?
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2009, 10:53:37 PM »
Thanks for that reply.  I am not sure I understand your answer, but in response to it I decreased the number of spectral lines to the minimum.  It still does the same thing.  It just makes a low buzzing sound.  It is nothing like a sweep at all and it goes on forever.  Nothing I can do changes it.

FaberAST

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 318
    • View Profile
    • www.FaberAcoustical.com
Re: How do I get SS Pro to do a sweep?
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2009, 11:54:26 AM »
Try increasing the number of spectral lines to the maximum of 4800 (that will increase the length of the sweep to 9600 samples, which is 0.2 seconds). If you need more control over your sweeps, you might want to check out SignalSuite.

audiguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: How do I get SS Pro to do a sweep?
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2009, 09:34:07 PM »
I have Signal Suite as per my previous post about the cost of upgrading.  Your solution worked.  I wasn't thinking that the longest sweep would be .2 secs.   That's quick.

Thanks